The Council

This website describes Hankerton Parish Council: meetings, members and responsibilities, its ways of working and finances.

Hankerton Parish Council meets every two months from January onwards on the first or second Monday of the month at 7.30pm. Meetings take place in the North Aisle Community Area in Hankerton Church.

2023 meetings: 9 January, 6 March, 22 May, 3 July, 4 September, 6 November.   

The 2023 Annual Village Meeting will be on 15 May.

Meetings are open to the public and everyone is welcome to attend. The public can raise items directly at the meeting under item 2, Public Questions/Receipt of Petitions. No prior notification needs to be given.

There are seven seats on the council. The current members were elected in May 2021 or have been co-opted since then:
David Bosley
Denis DeSouza
Dai Davies
Jacqui Erskine-Crum
Richard Barrow
Kate Nurden
[one vacancy]
More details are available on the profile page

Michael Bromley Gardner is the Parish Clerk.  Contact him on .

Members hold the responsibilities below; the parish council will decide who holds what at its Annual Meeting in May, and you can find the decision in the May Minutes:

Area Board
Emergency Plan/Winter Plan –  Hankerton Community Resilience Plan (see below)
Climate Strategy
Information Co-ordination
Patients Group
Flood Prevention

Occasionally vacancies arise and these are announced on the Parish noticeboard. There will not be an election to fill the vacancy unless 10 (or more) electors tell Wiltshire Council that they want one within a timescale laid down at the time. If there is not an election then the vacancy will be filled by co-option – this means the current Parish Council will appoint someone. The Parish Council will of course wish to find a volunteer.